After arriving at the library well equipped to battle the cold, I decide that I really didn't have it in me to concentrate on my thesis. So I call my friend L and we decided to take a much-needed break from our consuming life activities to get together. We meet in the park and absorb the sunshine until the chilly wind gets to us. Then we migrate over to a favorite coffee shop for warm beverages, food and conversation. I leave her on her doorstep after 7 p.m., both of us better off for having had some time to talk and laugh with a friend.

I probably should have stayed at the meat locker to work more on my thesis, but I just couldn't do it.

Two hours later, I find myself falling asleep on the couch so I get up for a hot bath before an early bedtime. I decide to start a new book while in the bath — a galley I picked up almost a year ago at BEA that I haven't gotten around to. Three hours later, I am still awake and had just finished the book … why? I could have easily gotten a good night's rest, but no; my internal clock is so out of whack that I'm up until 1:30 a.m.

The one thing that saves my night is getting a phone call around midnight and being able to actually talk to that person because I wasn't startled awake. I always look forward to late night conversations with this person, and after I hung up I smile, knowing I will have sweet dreams.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

